Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

MY BLOG BOOK BUDDY FOR THE WEEK IS MARGARET

on June 2, 2014

THIS WEEK BOOK BUDDY IS MARGARET 
( @margaretbmadden )

1. What was your fave book as a child?

I was addicted to Nancy Drew books! I devoured them and would drive my mother crazy by asking her to take me to the nearest bookshop so I could buy another. I think there were over 60 books so it must have cost her a fortune. I also loved the Judy Blume books as they addressed a lot of issues for a young teenage girl. 

2. What books do you like to read?

I try to read as many different genres as possible and rotate them so I don’t get bored with one specific genre. I love literary fiction, thrillers, classics, female fiction and have started reading more non-fiction. The only genres I can’t seem to get into are Sci-Fi and Fantasy. I do love to shake things up though and one day can be laughing out loud at a great chick-lit and then next day, crying at some amazing prose in a moving novel that tugs at my heart. A good thriller is also a favourite as there is something great about turning the page and not knowing what’s going to happen next!

3. Who is your favourite author?

My favourite author is Sebastian Barry who wrote the amazing “The Secret Scripture”. He writes so beautifully and I could reread that book over and over again. I hate this question as there are so many authors that I adore!!!

4. What is your favourite book and why?

Really??? What a hard question! I think I would have to say “Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier. I have a first edition and it’s so perfect! There are hundreds of books I consider to be my fave reads though; Pride & Prejudice ( I even call my husband Mr. Darcy ), The Rosie Project, The Herbalist, Longbourn, Beyond Grace’s Rainbow, Ruby’s Tuesday, The Dead Wive’s Handbook, Zenith Hotel, Out Of Africa, Kramer vs Kramer…..on and on and on……

5. How many books do you read a week?

I tend to get through 3-5 books per week. I also read my kids books aloud most evenings so total can vary. I am to review 3 books per week but no the summer holidays are approaching, I hope to increase this.

6. Do you prefer book or Kindle? Why?

Books! Definitely no doubt. While Kindle is great for travelling, I just adore the feel/smell/sight of a new book and have been known to caress books randomly ( SAD ).

7. What are you reading now?

I am halfway through two books at the moment : ” The Husband’s Confession ” by Zoe Miller, who is a fab Irish Author and who I actually bumped into at a book launch last night. I will be doing an interview and giveaway with her in the next few weeks. The second one is a non-fiction book ” The Decline and Fall of the Dukes of Leinster 1872-1948 ” by Terence Dooley, who I will also be interviewing next month. A fantastic look at Irish History and the stories of The Big House in our times of troubles. Fact can be even better than fiction, sometimes!

I am an Irish Book Blogger at BleachHouseLibrary.Blogspot.ie. I’m a mum of 5 who also fosters children, so always lots going on here! I have recently returned to education after 24 years and have just been accepted to University to study English and History. 
Books are basically my life. I have a library in my house with approx 3000 books and a TBR pile that is dangerously large! I also contribute to other blogs like Writing.ie, Novelicious.com and Lovereading.co.uk.
I love going to book events and attend as many as possible in Ireland, where I get to meet the wonderful authors who inspire me on a daily basis.
I have 4 dogs who drive me crazy but are adorable. They are great reading buddies in the winter, as they snuggle up and keep me warm. My kids adore reading too and my youngest, Mia, also reviews for publishers and writing.ie. I think she will end up in the industry!!
Twitter is my favourite social media for the book loving community….I have “met” some fab people through here and everyday I look forward to the twitter love 

Thanks for having me over on your blog. Great questions and loved answering them. Now I have to head off and do some study 
I WOULD LIKE TO THANK MARGARET FOR DOING THIS FOR ME (fab answer) 
YOU CAN FOLLOW HER ON HER BLOG OR TWITTER @margaretbmadden

 

One response to “MY BLOG BOOK BUDDY FOR THE WEEK IS MARGARET

  1. Great interview! I loved to read it!

Leave a Reply

