Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

HELEN PHIFER ON MY BLOG TODAY FOR SEPTEMBER BOOK CLUB Q&A

on October 2, 2014

I

i would like to welcome Helen Phifer to my blog and Facebook page Helen wrote The Ghost House we just read for are September book club

Q&A TIME

Where did you get the idea for the ghost house from? 

Since I was a child I’ve loved to walk in the woods behind Furness Abbey which are called Abbotswood, it’s just a five minute drive from my house. There used to be a huge mansion in those woods which was demolished in 1962 and I always used to wonder what it would have been like to live there. I’ve also been fascinated with Jack the Ripper since I was a teenager and the two just sort of merged together.

Who you fav character and why? 

I love them all, but it’s a tough choice between Alice and Annie, they are both quite similar and strong but compassionate which is nice.

If the house base on a place you know? 

Yes, unfortunately I’ve only ever seen photos of the house but I walk through the grounds a couple of times a week. My brother lives in the farmhouse which used to serve the mansion which is lovely and makes me feel as if I was meant to write the story.

Where do you get your idea for the character from are they base on people you know?

I can honestly say that they aren’t specifically based on anyone I know but I do pinch bits from people and mix them all up.

Do you believe in ghosts? 

I do.

Have you seen one? 

I haven’t actually seen one but I have heard and experienced things which there is no explanation for. I also took a photo in Abbotswood one evening and there is a very scary white mist in the picture which looks like there is three ghostly faces in it. That really freaked me out for awhile and I didn’t walk in that part of the woods for a long time after it.

Where do you like to write?

I prefer to write somewhere nice and quiet but my house is so mad (I have five almost grown up children) that I have to write whenever I get a moment. It’s usually on my little desk which is tucked into a corner of the living room next to the television.

What your fav drink to have when you’re writing?

Coffee, I love it. If I’m on a day off from work I sometimes nip to Costa for a takeaway latte to take back to my desk. If it’s evening and I don’t have to be a taxi service for anyone I love a glass of Barefoot Rose Wine, the only problem is it’s too easy to drink.

What inspires you to write? 

Anything and everything, I can hear a snippet of a conversation or read an article in the paper. The idea for The Ghost House came from walking the dog in the woods.

How did you get in write book?

I’ve always loved reading since I was a kid and I’ve always loved writing stories. I read a book about ten years ago now and thought that it was terrible, I couldn’t believe it had been published so I decided that I would have a go myself.

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I’m 44 years old, I have a large, crazy family who I love. I work full time for Cumbria Constabulary but I really want to be able to leave my job and write full time. I get so much pleasure from writing I could do it all day long. I like to go to the Lake District which is only half an hour from where I live so I try and go there a couple of times a month to escape the kids and find somewhere quiet to read the papers.

How would you describe the ghost house to someone that not read it? 

It’s a time slip story thriller about two killers who are born a century apart, if you like to read a book which will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end then you will love The Ghost House.

THANK YOU SO MUCH HELEN GREAT ANSWERS 
I WOULD LIKE TO THANK HELEN FOR HER HELP DOING THIS POST AND FOR HER TIME I KNOW SHE VERY BUSY 
THANK YOU AMANDAJAYNE X

Leave a Reply

