Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Q& A WITH AUTHOR CAROL MALONEY SCOTT HER BOOK THERE ARE NO MEN IS FAB 5 STARS

on November 26, 2014

Aj book review club's photo.Aj book review club's photo.

I LIKE TO WELCOME CAROL MALONEY SCOTT ON MY BLOG MY REVIEW FOR There Are No Men WILL FOLLOW LATER

1 WHAT INSPIRES YOU TO WRITE ?
Happiness. Being where I want to be in life.
As a little girl I wrote non-stop, churning out story after story. Then it all stopped in adolescence – so I had writer’s block for about 30 years.

Now the flood gates have opened, and the universe has unplugged my creative blockage – and the words are flying out of me. In the car – I have to pull off the road. In the shower – I need waterproof paper. In bed – I dream of new stories and have to sleep with my iPhone and it’s many lists.

So that bitch, Writer’s Block, is now history. The words are flowing like a waterfall or the liquor at an Irish wedding. I am no longer expecting any dry days ahead, now that I have rediscovered my first love.

I write because I can’t stop. I love it.

2 DID YOU BASE YOUR CHARACTER ON PEOPLE YOU KNOW ?
Yes, there are few characters based on people I know. Claire’s family – her sister, Jackie, and her parents, Claire and John, are very much like my sister, Jennifer, and my parents, Carol and Ed. Some minor characters – like Audra and Rachel, are based on friends. And Jane and Mike are VERY much like my friend, Jill and her husband. As for the men – let’s leave that one a mystery…J
3 WERE DID YOUR IDEA FOR THIS WONDERFUL BOOK COME FROM?
This book is loosely based on some of my own life experiences as a divorced woman trying to find love after being with one man since my high school years. Claire and I also share pregnancy loss and hysterectomy, although I am blessed with one healthy and hilarious child, a soon to be 20 year old son.
I wanted to capture the pain of infertility and the fear of dating after divorce, with the hope of new love and learning that there are different ways to reach our goals.
These messages are carefully hidden in the midst of crazy antics and hilarious misadventures. Just like in real life.

4 HOW SHOULD WE KEEP LOVE ALIVE ?
Communication. In all forms. Talking, touching, etc. I also think having shared activities and things to look forward to together keep love alive. Avoiding routine and boredom is challenging in a relationship, but helps to make things feel new and energized. And finally, forgive more than you blame. Everything that goes wrong doesn’t have to be someone’s fault.

5 DO YOU HAVE A FAVOURITE CHARACTER AND WHY ?
I love Brandon. He is sweet, handsome, loving and creative. He is also real – he gets mad and frustrated with Claire, and holds her accountable. He is shy in love and has a hard time expressing his feelings, but when he does it is powerful. Plus he loves Claire’s wiener dog, Dixie.

6 WHAT NEXT FOR YOU AS A WRITER ?
I am 119 pages into the first draft of my second novel, “Afraid of Her Shadow.” In this story Rebecca, (who is Claire’s’ friend in TANM) is dating a widower. The relationship is getting serious and she is facing her fears regarding ghosts and her boyfriend’s attachment to his late wife. But is that really the problem? Or is the fear of commitment making her jumpy? Is it the late wife’s pictures staring at her from the walls? Or the confusion over the return of her smoking hot ex?

Either way, poor Rebecca is knee deep in the craziness on her journey from single forty-something, cat-loving career woman to committed live-in girlfriend, while managing interfering family, a surly teenager, a very fluffy dog, and more baggage than she can take to Goodwill.

So yes, now I am working on making death funny. Kind of like “Death at a Funeral” but without the British people or the actual body. Also no blackmailing little people.

7 DID THE DRAMA OF THE BOOK HAPPEN IN A REAL LIFE OR IS IT JUST YOUR IMAGINATION ?
Some of the things happened in real life, but even those things are fictionalized and embellished to drive this unique story. There really was an old man with a hat.

8 WHAT BOOKS DO YOU LIKE TO READ ?
I read a wide variety of books. Romance, chick lit, humor, literary fiction, even an occasional fantasy or sci fi. I stay away from horror and erotica. The first because I don’t like graphic violence and the second just because it bores me.

9 DO YOU PERFER BOOK OR KINDLE AND WHY ?
I have only had a Kindle for about a year and a half. I bought one when I decided to start writing and publishing e-books. I still prefer to hold a book in my hand, but I have come to appreciate and enjoy the flexibility of carrying 30 books with me wherever I go. But I will never tire of real books. I love to look at them on my shelves.

10 WHERE DO YOU LIKE TO WRITE AND WHAT DO YOU LIKE TO DRINK ?
I write in my office, which is a small bedroom converted into an office space in my home. I usually drink Coke or juice. I like snacks, too – trail mix with M&M’s. Oh, I just remembered I have some downstairs and should be munching on that right now!

11 DO YOU HAVE A AUTHOR THAT AT CHRISTMAS YOU HAVE TO BUY THIER BOOK ?
No, not at all, but I would love some recommendations. I feel like I’m missing out.

12 WOULD YOU EVERY DO A CHRISTMAS BOOK ?
I would certainly be open to it, and my third book will actually take place during the Thanksgiving/Christmas holidays, so that will be the back drop. It will be a continuation of Claire’s story, a couple of years later.

13 DO YOU BELIEVE IN LOVE AT FIRST SIGNT ?
No. I think real love needs time to develop. However, I do believe in a connection at first in-person communication (email does NOT count!). I was hooked the first time I spoke to my fiancé Jim, even though I was dating someone else at the time. I had already known who he was, through mutual friends, but talking to him made the connection come alive. I always found him attractive before I spoke to him, but the spark was forged by words and gestures, not just sight.

14 WHAT YOUR FAVOURITE CHRISTMAS FOOD ?
I love food. Period. Every Christmas I make stuffed shells and bring them to Christmas Eve parties and anywhere I may be invited during the holidays. It’s a pretty simple, but time consuming dish that everyone loves. Even though I am of primarily Irish descent, I grew up in New York, where Italian food is very common and adored.

15 HOW LONG CAN A BOOK TAKE YOU TO WRITE AND HOW LONG DO YOU SIT TO WRITE FOR IN A DAY ?
I wrote and released my first book in 11 months, which was quite a feat since it was my first book AND I have a full time job AND I moved into my fiancé’s house, combining our two homes into one.
I hope to have my second book, Afraid of Her Shadow, out in less time, however I am still very busy – now with wedding planning! I am shooting for a spring release date.
I try very hard to carve out 1-2 hours at least 5 times a week to write. Sometimes I do better and sometimes life gets in the way. I remain flexible and forward thinking. Plus I love it, so it never feels like work.

16 I LOVE NEW YORK I BEEN 6 TIMES NOW WHAT WOULD YOUR IDEA DATE BE AND WERE WOULD YOU GO ?
If I can travel for the date, as you did, I would like to stay on a houseboat in Amsterdam. Explore the museums and shopping, enjoy the water and walk many miles together soaking up the local culture. And of course, eating fabulous food and drinking good wine, while listening to some rocking live music.

17 CAN YOU TELL ME A BIT ABOUT YOUR SELF
I am 46, divorced, and soon to be married to a wonderful man. I have a 20 year old son and a 5 year old wiener dog named Daisy. I live in Richmond, VA and I moved here from New York 15 years ago. I hold a fun and challenging day job in corporate HR and training.
Here’s my official “author bio”:
My name is Carol, and I’m addicted to Romance.

I grew up in the Hudson Valley area of New York, surrounded by “city folk,” like my Manhattanite mom and Bronx-native Dad, who taught me to be sweet on the outside, yet tough on the inside.

As a result, I’m often gifted sassy labels like “firecracker” or “feisty,” which I choose to take as a compliment, due to my Irish/Eastern European heritage.

My romantic history is as real (and complicated) as that of the heroines in my novels. I’ve been divorced, relocated, plunged fearlessly into the turbulent waters of online dating–only to retreat, yelping, at the occasionally shocking climate before bravely renewing my efforts–until finally, I grabbed hold of happiness and refused to let go.

While I did eventually find my “HEA” in the form of a real life relationship, I also fell in love with writing, and it’s a romance I can’t get enough of.

That’s why I can’t help chasing after that thrill of first love, of never-ending passion, of self-discovery, of romance–even if that chase leads me to (and sometimes over) the edge.

18 WHAT DO YOU LIKE IN A MAN ?
Honesty, patience, kindness, maturity and flexibility. And number one – a sense of humor. Laughing cures most of life’s ills.

19 IF YOU PICK ONE CHARACTER YOU COULD CHANGE WHO WOULD IT BE AND WHY ?
I would develop Rebecca a little more, since she is the main character in my new novel. But maybe leaving her life shrouded in mystery in There Are No Men makes the new novel even more interesting. We’ll see.

20. CAN YOU TELL ME A BIT ABOUT YOUR BOOK IF SOMEONE NOT READ IT ?
It’s a story of hope and second chances. Overcoming disappointments and learning from them. Plus I am told it is hilarious and heartwarming. Sounds like a good book to check out.

MY REVIEW TO FOLLOW IN A WHILE I LIKE TO THANK CAROL FOR DOING THIS FAB POST FOR ME

THANK YOU FOR READING THIS POST AMANDAJAYNE X
Leave a Reply

