Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Joanne Clancy Author is on my blog today her book The Gift is fab i asked Joanne a few questions

on December 11, 2014

Aj book review club's photo.Aj book review club's photo.Aj book review club's photo.

Joanne Clancy
Author is on my blog today her book the gift is fab i asked Joanne a few questions

1. What inspires you to write?
Inspiration can strike me anywhere. My phone is full of random thoughts
and potential one line storylines that have hit me while I’m out and about
doing the grocery shopping, at the cinema, watching TV, on a bus. My
“Secrets and Lies” trilogy was inspired by the Japanese earthquake and
tsunami of March 2011. My “Unfaithful” trilogy was inspired by one of my
favourite films, “The First Wives Club”. “Watched” was inspired by the new
stalking laws that were enforced in the U.K. in 2012. You just never know
when or where an idea will strike. I’ve always got my eyes and ears open.
Sometimes a turn of phrase, a newspaper headline or a magazine article will
inspire me. Apparently, Maeve Binchy found eavesdropping on conversations
on the bus a wonderful source of inspiration!

2. Do you base the characters on people you know?
I base the characters on little bits of everyone I’ve met or know or have
seen on TV or read about in a book or newspaper, not just on any one
particular person. I think about my characters a lot, and tend
to lose myself in them when I’m writing. I’ve even been known to
accidentally confuse my friends and characters’ names, at times!
I find that my characters dictate everything else about the story–the
tone, the action, everything–my characters drive the plot.

3.Where did your idea for this book come from?
I’ve wanted to write a Christmas story for a few years, but I’ve only
gotten around to doing it this year. I wanted the book to be
different to the usual overly sentimental Christmas fare. I wanted the
story to focus on the true meaning of Christmas, and to
show that although most people have a wonderful Christmas time, not
everyone is so lucky.

4. How long can it take you to write?
I write about a thousand words an hour. Some days, when I’m really in the
flow of a story, I can write six or seven thousand words,
but most days I write about three thousand words.

5. Where do you like to write?
I write upstairs in my little office overlooking the beautiful shores of
Lough Derg.

6. How many books have you written and do you have a favourite one?
I’ve written nineteen books, and my favourite one is “Traceless”. I think I
really found my crime writing voice in that book.

7. Is Christmas time your favourite time of year?
Yes! I absolutely adore Christmas. I put up the tree and decorations as
early as possible–actually I just decorated the house
last week. I love everything about it–the food, the mulled wine, the
atmosphere, the weather…everything. It’s a time of excitement
and anticipation, but also a time to reflect on the year that’s just
passed. It can be a bittersweet time, full of anticipation, when I like to
think about the experiences I’ve had and the
lessons I’ve learned, and I like to think about the year ahead.

8. Can you tell me about “The Gift: A Christmas Miracle”?
“The Gift” is about a young mother-to-be who’s expecting her first child on
Christmas Eve. She’s full of excitement, until a
chance encounter with a troubled stranger turns her world upside down.
Soon, she’s praying for her very own Christmas miracle. However, the
kindness of strangers and the spirit of the Christmas season, ensure that
her story has a happy ending.

9. Can you tell me a bit about yourself?
I’m a writer from County Cork, Ireland. I’ve been writing full-time for the
past four and a half years. I started out writing contemporary
romance novels, which developed into romantic suspense stories, and now
I’ve found my writing style in crime novels.
I’m an avid reader and a self-confessed Kindle addict! I’m partial to the
odd glass of red wine or three, but am completely addicted
to tea and mince pies. When I’m not writing or reading, I like knitting and
online shopping.

10. What books do you like to read?
I have quite an eclectic taste in books. I enjoy anything from contemporary
romance to psychological thrillers. I discovered Gillian
Flynn’s “Gone Girl” last year, which turned me into a crime fiction addict!
My favourite book this year is “The Truth about the Harry
Quebert Affair”.

11. Do you prefer book or Kindle and why?
It depends on my mood or what I’m doing. The Kindle is so handy when
travelling or going on holidays; I can download lots of books
without taking up any room in my luggage. It’s also lightweight for reading
under the covers in bed, but you can’t really beat the
joy of holding an epic book in your hands–the smell and the feel of the
paper in your hands is intoxicating, and a huge part of
the reading experience.

12. How did writing this book make you feel?
Writing “The Gift” made me feel nostalgic for Christmases past. It’s the
first Christmas story I’ve written, and I really wanted to
capture the sights, sounds, tastes and smells of Christmas. It also made me
feel happy and excited for the expectant mother, and
sorry for the troubled woman. It was quite an emotional rollercoaster,
really, but with a happy ending.

13. What next for you?
I’m currently working on my twentieth book, which will be published in
January 2015. It’s a crime novel.

14. What’s your favourite food and drink?
My favourite food is Christmas dinner–roast turkey and all the trimmings;
my mouth’s watering just thinking about it.
My favourite drink is a strong cup of Barry’s tea; like a hug in a cup,
nothing can beat it, not even a lovely glass of red wine.

15. What was one of the best and worst gifts you had for Christmas?
The best gift I ever received was my Kindle.
The worst gift was a DVD of Family Guy , which I received as a Secret
Santa gift.

16. If you got one wish for Christmas what would it be?
I would like to have all my family and loved ones sitting down together at
a huge table, eating, drinking and being merry.
It’s been years since we’ve all been together for Christmas, and that would
be my biggest wish.

17. How do you spend Christmas Day?
I usually start the day off with a large glass of Buck’s Fizz, before I get
start the cooking. After several hours in the kitchen,
we sit down to eat, eat, eat while listening to carols. Afterwards, I’ll
throw myself on the couch and demolish some mince pies
and watch Christmas movies.

18. Which character did you most feel for in this book and why?
I really felt for Casey. She had a troubled childhood; her parents were
alcoholics and she never felt loved or cared for. Her adult life
wasn’t much better, and she felt all alone in the world.

19. Where do you get the ideas for your book? Do you write them all down?
An idea can strike anywhere–from the TV, to a newspaper or magazine
article.
I have notebooks full of ideas, and pieces of paper with randomly scribbled
thoughts.

20. What advice would you give to someone who wants to write a book?
My advice would be to start. Grab a pen and paper or your laptop and just
start writing. Pour your heart out, without monitoring or
editing a single word; all the editing can be done later. Get your first
draft written as quickly as possible.
Read, read, read, and pay attention to how the books are written. Notice
the dialogue, the character descriptions, the scenes.
Believe in yourself.
Don’t be afraid to break the rules.
Stay true to your own unique voice.
Never give u

I would like to thank Joanne for doing this post and thank all for reading
One response to “Joanne Clancy Author is on my blog today her book The Gift is fab i asked Joanne a few questions

  1. Tanya says:

    Great interview.

Leave a Reply

