Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Awful auntie by David Williams review by sophie age 11 children bookweek & birthday week on my blog

on February 3, 2015

Photo: Sophie review follow

Awful auntie by David Williams
Review by sophie age 11

The blurb
From number one bestselling author David Walliams comes another heartfelt but hilarious hoot of an adventure

Stella Saxby is the sole heir to Saxby Hall. But awful Aunt Alberta and her giant owl will stop at nothing to get it from her. Luckily Stella has a secret – and slightly spooky – weapon up her sleeve…

What sophie says

To start of it wasn’t one of the best David Walliams books I’ve ever read but not the worse. My favourite part is where the young girl meets the ghost in the cellar. Also I found the letter of complaint from Raj funny and there is even an online potition to sign to bring him back on the next book. Near the end there is a part where she is tricked by her Aunt which I found very clever.

The illustrations were amazing once again and I enjoyed looking at them.

I lot of people that I know like this book but weren’t amazed by it. I would recommend this book to 11yrs and down. Overall I would give this book a three out of five but I will most definitely be reading this again.

Sophie

About the Author
Since 2008 David Walliams has taken the children’s literary world by storm. His most recent book DEMON DENTIST, immediately went to no.1 in the children’s chart and sold over half a million copies in less than a year, while the PBs of his previous titles dominate the UK charts. Today, David is the fastest-growing children’s author in the UK. His books have been translated into 40+ languages and sold over 4 million copies in the UK alone. David’s books have achieved unprecedented critical acclaim – and both RATBURGER and DEMON DENTIST won the National Book Awards Children’s Book of the Year.

A great review Sophie thank you for doing for me x Aj

One response to “Awful auntie by David Williams review by sophie age 11 children bookweek & birthday week on my blog

  1. Lucy Ends says:

    Well done, Sophie. I must read some David Walliams … Which do you think is his best book so far?

Leave a Reply

