Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Lucy’s day on my blog Birthday Q &A TODAYS BIRTHDAY FACTS

on February 5, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.Aj book review club's photo.

Lucy’s day on my blog
Birthday Q & A
What do you want for your birthday?
Amazon vouchers, please! My parents always send me these, so that I can keep my Kindle stocked. It’s so lovely to be able to do guilt-free book shopping.

What books are on your birthday list?
Well, if they’re out now, there’s no way I’ll be waiting until my birthday for them. Not when I have Christmas Amazon vouchers at my disposal (thank you, parents). But these titles from my wish list won’t be released until nearer my birthday, so they can be birthday treats:

Lisa Jewell – The Girls
Toni Morrison – God Help The Child
Sophie Kinsella – Finding Audrey
Dorothy Koomson – That Girl From Nowhere
Minette Walters – The Cellar

There are also a few Terry Pratchett books which I have on my Kindle, but NEED paper copies of to complete mycollection. Birthdays are useful for that sort of thing. If I’m very lucky, the new Tiffany Aching book, The Shepherd’s Crown, will be out later this year, too.

What do you do on your birthday?
Whatever I jolly well like! I try to take my birthday week off work so that I can have a relaxing week. My birthday is in the summer, so it’s always a hot and lazy day. Last year, I spent the day reading in my paddling pool, then went out for a meal in the evening. The same again this year would be just perfect.

What food do you like?
Oh, you know. All the bad things. Although I have survived for quite a few birthdays so far, so they can’t be all that terrible. Dairy is my downfall (although I tell myself I am preventing osteoporosis by scoffing lots of calcium), and I love anything cheesy, or creamy … Or chocolatey. Obviously.

What’s the worst gift you’ve ever had?
I think the worst kind of gift is one which shows that the giver has put no thought into it whatsoever. The kind of gift that screams: “I walked into a gift shop and this was the first thing I saw”. I don’t mind when these gifts come from people I don’t know very well, because I don’t expect those people to spend their time wondering what I would like. But one birthday, a boyfriend presented me with one of these tacky treasures. It was a hideous plaster model of a bird. Utterly vile. I have no idea what possessed him to buy it. I’d have preferred a card bearing the message: “I’ve paid no attention to your personality, likes, or dislikes during the time we’ve been together, because I really couldn’t care less. Let’s just call it a day, shall we?” Reader, I chucked it. And him.

The best gift?
Conversely, I think the best gifts are the ones which take you by surprise, because someone remembered something that you said in passing one time, maybe months before your birthday, and made a mental note to fulfil a small wish of yours. Last year, I had completely forgotten that I’d mentioned wanting a couple of plain wooden trays to a friend a couple of months before my birthday until I opened my gift from her and found exactly the trays I’d been looking at the previous week (and would have bought, if the shopkeeper hadn’t been nattering on the phone and ignoring my “please tell me how much these trays are” expression, which resulted in me walking out of the shop). It might not sound like an amazing gift, but it showed that she listens to me (even when I’m talking about trays), and that she knows my taste. Thoughtful people (and presents) are the best.

What cake do you like?
Lemon drizzle cake. And chocolate cake. And cheesecake.And carrot cake. And apple cake. And walnut cake. And any cake with butter icing. And rice crispie cakes. And ice cream cake. And …

What do you like for tea on your birthday?
Pretty much anything that I don’t have to cook. I love Greek food (fortunately), so a meal in my favourite local taverna is ideal. Especially since the dog is allowed to join me there. It wouldn’t be much of a birthday celebration without her.

If you could have a party, what kind would you have?
A Lucy-free party. I’m not really a party person. I prefer one-on-one social situations: a catch up with a close friend is about as wild as I get.

Is there a special birthday you can remember from your childhood?
Oh, gosh, I am far too old to be able to answer questions like that. Erm … I can’t remember a whole specific birthday, but I can remember happy little flashback moments. When I was nine, a friend burped the whole of “Happy Birthday” to me. That was pretty memorable.

What do you like to give as a gift for someone’s birthday?
Well, having ranted about thoughtless gifts above, I would be very remiss if I didn’t I try to take my own advice and remember those little things people say which spark ideas for the perfect gift. It’s great to be able to give people something that shows you know them and think about them. I get very excited when I find the perfect gift for a friend. I just can’t wait to see them unwrap it. I often try to crochetgifts, but if I don’t have time to make something, I have a couple of go-to places to shop. I know I will always find great little accessories and hippy bits and bobs in Monistiraki. And there’s a little shop near my house where a lovely lady sells beautiful bead necklaces and other jewellery that she makes herself. No two pieces are the same, and I love giving unique gifts. Thankfully, I rarely have to buy presents for boys, as they are less likely to appreciate crochet, hippy accessories, or beads.

Happy birthday, AJ, and anyone else who is celebrating this month. I hope you have a perfect day x

thank you Lucy a fab post

TODAYS BIRTHDAY FACTS

Cakes the facts
In England, birthday cakes are baked with symbolic objects inside (you could have a whole lot of fun with that). In medieval times, objects such as coins and thimbles were mixed into the batter. People believed that the person who got the coin would be wealthy, while the unlucky finder of the thimble would never marry. Today, small figures, fake coins and small candies are more common.

It has also been claimed that the Germans invented birthday cakes, and celebrated birthdays with a cake called “Geburtstagorten”. The Germans were known to have been skilled candlemakers and may have put small candles on their cakes, possibly for religious reasons

Birthday Parties

The earliest birthday parties in history were held because it was feared that evil spirits were attracted to people on their birthdays. At first it was only kings who were recognized as important enough to have a birthday celebration. To protect them from harm, friends and family would help celebrate their birthday by spending time with the birthday person, bringing them good wishes, thoughts and presents. Hats and noisemakers were used at birthday parties, with the thought that the noisemakers were also a way to scare away the evil spirits.

4 responses to “Lucy’s day on my blog Birthday Q &A TODAYS BIRTHDAY FACTS

  1. Tanya says:

    This is brilliant Lucy. Good on you getting rid of that guy. Maybe I should have done this to Greg when he bought me a gel bike seat!

  2. Lucy Ends says:

    Haha! I’m sure Greg has many redeeming qualities. The bloke mentioned above did not.
    I’m glad you like the post. 🙂

  3. Nice interview Lucy and AJ. I will need to check out the new Sophie Kinsella book! She is my fav and I didn’t know another book was due soonish. Thank you.
    Amanda.

Leave a Reply

