Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

AMANDA PROWSE DAY ON BLOG Will You Remember me ?Kelly review

on March 6, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.Aj book review club's photo.

Will You Remember Me? by Amanda Prowse

Kelly review for this fab book

the blurb

How do you say goodbye to your family for the last time?

Poppy Day is thirty two and married to her childhood sweetheart. She is a full time mum to two gorgeous children and loves her homely little cottage in countryside. It’s the life she always wanted.

But Poppy is so busy caring for others she hasn’t noticed how tired she is, or the menacing lump growing on her breast. It’s unthinkable that cancer could defeat such a strong and amazing woman. But life doesn’t always give you what you deserve….

What I Think:

This is such a beautiful book, I’m struggling to find words that will do it justice.

After reading Poppy Day, I couldn’t wait to get stuck into Will You Remember Me> and continue Poppy’s story. This book started out light hearted and funny, but soon took a very serious twist, as Poppy found out that she has breast cancer, that it has spread to her bones, and that it is incurable.

When I read Poppy Day, I thought that Poppy was an incredible character and in this book, she roves just how amazing she is. In both books Poppy has to go through things that some people can’t even imagine. But after everything she has gone through she is still strong. In Will You Remember Me?, she goes through a situation that is everyone’s worst nightmare, but Poppy seems to take it in her stride.

The book got very heavy after the first one hundred pages and for a minute, I didn’t know if I would read on or not, because I was so full of sadness for Poppy. I enjoyed the Amanda Prowse novels I have read previous to this one, so I decided to carry on reading the book, and I’m so glad I did.

Never have I needed so many tissues while reading a book! I even had to put it down at stages because I couldn’t see the words through my tears. To say this book moved me was an understatement. It’s a story that I will never forget, and Poppy is a character that will probably stay with me forever.

The characters in this book are beautifully written. We get to meet Poppy and Mart again, and also their two children, Peg and Max. We also get to catch up with Simon, Dot’s child, from Amanda’s book, Clover’s Child, which I really enjoyed.

There are no words to describe how beautifully written this book is, and how much I enjoyed it. It’s a hard read at times, but it’s absolutely worth reading from cover to cover.

5/5 stars

About the Author:

Amanda
lives in the West Country with her husband Simeon, a solider and their two sons, Ben and Josh. She has now published seven novels and four short stories. She is a full time writer. Her new novel, A Mother’s Story is out now.

Leave a Reply

