Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

AUTHOR DAWN KOPMAN WHIDDEN ON MY BLOG Q & A

on March 10, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.          "My review for this fab book tomorrow on blog plus Dawn with a q& a post"

DAWN KOPMAN WHIDDEN

Why do you write these books ?

When I was just 9 years old I had a task to write a fictional story about something we learned about the Pilgrims that came to the Americas. My teacher talked about how people were punished when they did something wrong like stealing. I was fascinated with the PILLORY which was a device made of a wooden or metal framework erected on a post , with holes for securing the head and hands, formerly used for punishment. So I came up with the idea ‘HOW THE GIRAFFE GOT HIS NECK” My teacher was astounded by my creativity and announced in front of the class I was going to be an author when I grew up. It was an epiphany for me and became my own dream.
It took my 50 years to realize that dream, but it happened.

Where do u get your idea from?

My first novel A CHILD IS TORN came from a nightmare I had one evening. I woke up at 3 A.M. shaking from the vision of a the year old little boy, much like my grandson covered in blood. I knew if I didn’t get up that very moment and write down what I envisioned it would be lost in the morning. So , I turned on my laptop and started to write.

What inspires you to write ?

My inspiration to continue to write came from that teacher that saw something special in me and of course from the readers that keep asking for more!

Who your favourite character and why?

I don’t know if I have a favorite character. Each one is a magnification of someone or somebody I love or hate..lol. I guess if I have to pick one I would pick THE CAPTAIN. Ryan Keal, Marty’s dad.

Where do you like to write?

I have a chronic illness called FIBROMYALGIA and Chronic Fatigue. I spend most of my time in my bed. I have a small desk next to the bed and my laptop sits on that. It is where I spend all of my writing time.

How long did does it take you to write a book?

A CHILD IS TORN took only 3 months. FACELESS about one year, and STOLEN a bit longer than that. I presently am on my 4th novel, but it has been much more challenging. I also started to write a prequel to the series, but I have yet to get past the third of forth chapter. I may never finish it. frown emoticon

Why do write crime books?

I have always been fond of mysteries with a little bit of romance thrown in. I am fascinated with the human mind and how it works. It blows me away that someone can even commit a crime such as murder, rape or kidnapping. Perhaps by me writing these stories I can answer my own questions of why someone would commit such an heinous act.

Marty was my favourite can tell more about him ?

Marty is I suspect what every woman dreams of as a suitor. Now I have the most handsome husband whom I love dearly, but he is a typical man. Marty is the guy who you ask to change the lightbulb and he jumps up and does it for you. He is most likely standing on the ladder without a shirt and his blue eyes are glaring at you, asking what else baby can I do for you…But, I do have to throw in some faults every once in a while. For some reason us women want a little bad boy in mix…

What kind of books do u like to read ?
I love a good mystery with a bit or romance thrown in. I like books that deal with human emotion and weaknesses and strength. I have quite a list of favorite authors. One of my favorite series is THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATOO and the 2 follow ups. I was devastated when I learned the author Larsson had passed away.

I love Jody Picoult, JD ROBB, aka Nora Roberts, James Patterson, and Ken Follett ( who is an excellent historical novelist.)

Your favourite food& drink?

I am a meat and potatoes type of girl. Love a good steak and mashed potatoes.

Were do your live? A bit about your self

I was born in NYC in the early 50’s. I grew up in a LEAVE IT TO BEAVER world. One brother, mom and dad. One bathroom. Rainy Sundays playing Monopoly with the family or gathered around the Black and White TV watching Ed Sullivan and Bonanza.
I grew up in a town that was actually developed so the Veterans of WW2 were able to get affordable housing. Thousands of young couples and their new families left the crowded boroughs of Brooklyn, and the Bronx, or Manhattan, drove 20 miles or so and settled down in the town of Douglaston where several hundred garden apartments were erected. Every apartment had a least one or two kids and I was never without a playmate. We left the house when the sun came up , and didn’t have to come home till the street lights came on.Everyone knew everyone else. It was a wonderful and safe time. I lived in that same town until I was 36 years old.

Twenty Five years ago I left my childhood neighborhood and moved to Florida. I met my husband here and we retired and moved to a very small farming town. I love it. No traffic, everyone knows each other. There are no strangers here.

THANK YOU AMANDA FOR GIVING ME THIS OPPORTUNITY! AND I HOPE YOU ARE FEELING BETTER.
http://www.amazon.com/Dawn-Kopman-…/…/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_2

"My review for this fab book tomorrow on blog plus Dawn with a q& a post"

Leave a Reply

