Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

KELLY REVIEW The Girl On The Cliff by Lucinda Riley

on March 12, 2015

"Today i doing a Lucinda Riley day on my blog her books are fab who read any ?"

The Girl On The Cliff by Lucinda Riley
KELLY REVIEW
The blurb
Why has a secret from 1914 caused a century of heartache?

Troubled by recent loss, Grania Ryan has returned to Ireland and the arms of her loving family. And it is here, on a cliff edge, that she first meets a young girl, Aurora, who will profoundly change her life.

Mysteriously drawn to Aurora, Grania discovers that the histories of their families are strangely and deeply entwined . . .

From a bittersweet romance in wartime London to a troubled relationship in contemporary New York, from devotion to a foundling child to forgotten memories of a lost brother, the Ryans and the Lisles, past and present, have been entangled for a century. Ultimately, it will be Aurora whose intuition and remarkable spirit help break the spell and unlock the chains of the past.

Haunting, uplifting and deeply moving, Aurora’s story tells of the triumph of hope over loss.

What i say
I can’t count how many times I have picked up a Lucinda Riley book in the bookshop, looked at it, read the blurb, put it back on the shelf and left the shop without it. Well last weekend that didn’t happen, last weekend, this book made it’s way to the till. And after it being recommended to me be so many people on twitter, I took the plunge and read it. Now having finished it just moments ago, I don’t think I’ll ever look at a book in the same light again. I don’t think that I’ll ever find a book that is so beautifully written and that captures my heart like this one has.

I started off with this book, simply because it’s set in Clonakilty in West Cork, which isn’t too far away from where I live. I felt this book really come alive. because I could picture the setting and that made all the difference to me when I was reading it. The book was divided into two stories, one set in Clonakilty in Cork in the modern day and one set in London in the early 20th Century.

The modern day story see’s Grania Ryan, who after suffering a miscarriage, has returned home to Dunworldy from New York. While out walking one day she meets a little girl on the cliff, Aurora, who is
about to become a big part of Grania’s life. The other story starts in 1904, with Grania’s Great Grandmother Mary, who goes to work in London during the first world war. But somehow both stories are connected and the book gives you just enough clues to keep you guessing until all is revealed towards the end of the book!

This book made me laugh, it made me cry, it was lighthearted, but it also had a dark side. It touched on many sensitive topics, but still gave a warm hearted feeling at the end. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! Usually when I see historical fiction, I run the other way! But I am so glad that I have taken the plunge and discovered the hidden gem that id Lucinda Riley. I can’t wait to read the rest of her books and I already know that she will be one of my very favourite authors. A highly recommended book.

5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

