Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Secrets of the Tower by Debbie Rix

on March 21, 2015

"My review tomorrow now only 99p on Amazon it fab 5 stars"

Secrets of the Tower:
The great mystery and passionate romance behind the Leaning Tower of Pisa by debbie rix

THE BLURB
Two women, centuries apart, bound together by the secrets of one of the most iconic buildings ever created.

Pisa, 1999
Sam Campbell sits by her husband’s hospital bed. Far from home and her children, she must care for Michael who is recovering from a stroke. A man she loves deeply. A man who has been unfaithful to her.

Alone and in need of distraction, Sam decides to pick up Michael’s research into the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Immersing herself in the ancient city, she begins to piece together the mystery behind the creation of the tower, and discovers the woman that history forgot…

Pisa, 1171
Berta di Bernardo, the wife of a rich merchant, sits in her chamber, dressing for a dinner party. A gathering that will change the course of her life and that of a young master mason, Gerardo, forever.

A strong, intelligent woman, Berta’s passion for architecture draws her to Gerardo. As she embarks on a love affair, her maid Aurelia also becomes spellbound by the same man. Yet for Berta, her heart’s desire is to see the Tower built, and her determination knows no bound

WHAT I SAY
WOW A FABULOUS READ
i loved this book so much i can not believe is Debbie debut

You can tell she done a lot of research for this book
i will say I enjoyed the historical parts of the story more only because the characters were more mesmerising to me i just want to know more about them
It just so beautifully written
Debbie a very talented author i will look out for her books now i loved the way the story unfolds i was hooked the end was brilliant too

I love the cover it makes you want to pick up to read

The way Debbie wrote the story made the characters come alive I could see them all in my mind her description of the places and scene were just so wonderful wrote you can see them all in your head

The story about the mystery of who designed the leaning tower of Pisa
Berta the lady behind the tower was just so fascinating i want to hear all about her she was a real person to which made her more interesting

I liked the way Sam narrative the story i just find it hard to put down the story just griped me
Berta ,Aurelia and Gerardo were all such strong characters i liked the love triangle it just captured me and my heart i was there with them all i can see them all so clear in my mind
The way the past and present were link work so well i want to tell you more but i want you to read it just a lovely strong story so brilliantly written i will just capture your hearts please read you will love it so much i did
5 dolls(5 stars )
I want like thank net galley and Bookouture for letting me read and review

3 responses to “Secrets of the Tower by Debbie Rix

  1. Lovely review! I must admit although I’m not into historical reading I am tempted by this book as I was fortunate enough to go to Pisa last January for 4 days & it was a treat to wake up to the magnificent Tower every morning. Your review has persuaded me to add to my TBR list.

  2. Tanya Phillips says:

    Love the sound of this.

Leave a Reply

