Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

The Jackdaw (DI Sean Corrigan, Book 4)by luke Delaney

on March 25, 2015

"Lynsey review tomor"     

crime / thriller Lynsey on the case
The Jackdaw (DI Sean Corrigan, Book 4)by luke Delaney

THE BLURB

The fourth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series – authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.

Guilty or not guilty?

A lone vigilante is abducting wealthy Londoners and putting their fate in the hands of the public. Within hours of disappearing, the victims appear on the internet, bound to a chair in a white room.

Revenge or mercy?

Their crimes of greed and incompetence are broadcast to the watching thousands who make up the jury. Once the verdict is cast, the man who calls himself ‘The Jackdaw’ will be judge and executioner.

Live or die?

DI Sean Corrigan and his Special Investigations Unit are under pressure to solve this case fast. But as The Jackdaw’s popularity grows, Corrigan realizes he’s hunting a dangerously clever and elusive adversary – one who won’t stop until his mission is complete.I am a newcomer to this authors work and i am very happy that i found this series. I thought Jackdaw was very fresh and up to date crime book.

WHAT I SAY

Being a new reader Jackdaw does give some of the earlier cases away mainly with the toy taker but i had no issues with this as its made me want to read the others in the series especially the toy taker as this case seemed to have a lasting affect on the team. I have brought this book along with the others to catch up with the series and to find out what happened with Sally and Sean.

In Jackdaw we have a lone vigilante kidnapping Londoners from the financial sector and then putting them in front of a live audience via the web and asking them to vote so that the killer can become both judge and executioner.

I liked the police procedural part and i could feel the pressure on the team i could certainly tell that Luke brought his knowledge of the police into the story.

I like how DI Sean Corrigan seems to get in the mind of the killer and seems to be having a conversation with them in his mind.

The Jackdaw was abit chilling as it felt that it could easily happen and how big social media is, it would be easy to get a wide range of viewers like how we seen in Jackdaw.

With the Jackdaw himself it was refreshing not to have a victim as a complete innocent person but someone who you dont feel sorry for and would hold a grudge against them. I didnt see the ending coming at all i never guessed.

The Jackdaw was a brilliant read that i really enjoyed and would recommend to others and i am now going to read the others in the series.

About the Author
Luke Delaney joined the Metropolitan Police Service in the late 1980s and his first posting was to an inner city area of South East London notorious for high levels of crime and extreme violence. He later joined CID where he investigated murders ranging from those committed by fledgling serial killers to gangland assassinations.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: