Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Poppy Day by Amanda Prowse

on April 6, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.       Aj book review club's photo.

Kelly review
Poppy Day by Amanda Prowse
The blurb
Ever since hairdresser Poppy Day married her childhood sweetheart, Mart, she’s been deleriously happy. Now Mart is fighting in Afghanistan, and Poppy is counting the days until he returns.

I takes one knock on the door to rip Poppy’s world apart. Mart has been taken hostage and it’s too dangerous for the army to rescue him.

Poppy is determined to bring him home herself. But her journey will lead her to a heartbreaking dilemma. What price will she pay to save the man she loves?

What I Think:
Poppy Day is an ordinary twenty two year old. She is a hairdresser and lives in the flat she grew up in with her childhood sweetheart, Mart, who she married three ago.

Then one day Mart decides that in order to give Poppy the life she deserves, he’s going to join the army. Poppy is less than pleased with his decision and as his date for leaving for Afghanistan looms, she finds it hard to cope.

A knock on her door soon sends her life into a downward spiral, as she is told that Martin has been taken hostage while on tour in Afghanistan. Despite the army’s best efforts, he is unable to be rescued.

Poppy feels that nothing is been done to rescue her husband, and soon decides to take matters into her own hands. She decides to go to Afghanistan and bring her husband home.

This book is a rollercoaster of emotion. I cried, I laughed and smiled my way through this book.

In the three novels by Amanda Prowse that I have previously read, I found that I connected with the characters on a great level and this book was no different.

I felt like Poppy was my best friend from the very first page and I found that at times during the book, I was holding my breath for her, wishing that everything will be alright!

I thought that Poppy was a very strong main character. She’s twenty two, which is the same age as me, and I have no idea what I would do if I was faced with her situation, but I know without doubt that I would not be a srtrong as she is.

I have no experience of what life on the army is like, or what it is like to be an army wife, but I don’t think that it’s necessary to enjoy this book. I thought that it gave a good example of what it’s like to be in the army,as well as being the persono left behind.

This book is one of the most beautifully written pieces of writing that I have ever encountered. It has just the right level of emotion and I definetly needed the tissues on hand at certain points throughout the book.

Even though this is Amanda’s first novel, I would recommend that you read Clover’s Child first. In Clover’s Child, you meet Dot Simpson when she was eighteen and hear about her life. Dot is also in Poppy Day, but as Poppy’s grandmother,Dorethea, so I recommend reading her story first. Dorethea being in this book, was a highlight for me. I feel in love with her while reading Clover’s Child and it was lovely to be able to follow her story into Poppy Day.

Amanda should be applauded for her ablily to describ what happened in this book. It had me in tear on more than one occasion. At times it got very heavy, but this was absolutely necessary for this story. This is not my usual type of book, but I enjoyed it from beginning to end. I couldn’t put it down, as there was
always something happening that made me want to read just a little bit more. Poppy is one of best main characters I’ve come across and she really made this book special. This book deserves nothing less than 5/5 stars.

Poppy’s story continues in Will You Remember Me?

About the Author:

Amanda lives in the West Country with her husband Simeon, a solider and their two sons, Ben and Josh. She has now published seven novels and four short stories. She is a full time writer. Her new novel, A Mother’s Story is availabe now.

One response to “Poppy Day by Amanda Prowse

  1. Arielle Joy says:

    I love Prowse’s writing! Sounds like another great story from her 🙂

Leave a Reply

