Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Today i got author Samantha Tonge on my blog

on April 23, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.      Aj book review club's photo.

Today i got author
Samantha Tonge on my blog
Where do you get your ideas for you books from?

Sometimes I’m inspired by the title of a film or TV show that catches my
attention. I love Downton Abbey and my debut novel was called Doubting
Abbey, about a pizza waitress who has to pass herself off as an aristocrat
for two weeks. I’m also a huge fan of Game of Thrones and love baking, so I
thought about what sort of book I could write with the title Game of Scones.

This book set in Greece what do you like about the place ?

I think it is the perfect romantic setting, with the gentle sea breezes,
shortbread sands, azure seas, the aroma of garlic and the dark-eyed
fishermen…. *sigh*. I’d like to go there right now!

Who is your favourite character and why ?

It is a hard question to answer, because I love all the main three –
executive Pippa, suave property developer Henrik and flirty fisherman
Niko… But I think Pippa. She is torn between her head and heart so many
times, like many of us. Also, she longs to quit her busy London life and
escape to somewhere quaint and simple like fishing village Taxos… I think
many of us can relate to that.

Do you ever base your characters on people you know ?

Not often – but I did base Henrik on a very charming and handsome flight
attendant I met, whilst travelling last year! KLM on Twitter tracked him
down for me and he’s been very lovely, sending me photos for promoting the
book. But that is unusual, most characters come from my imagination.

You love to cook do like to cook sweet or savoury thing and why ?

I love to bake, because I have more confidence with sugar and flour, as
opposed to meat and veg. I also have a very sweet tooth. I still use a lot
of recipes out of the little box of notes from my cookery lessons at school.
You can’t beat the old traditional ones like sponge cake, shortbread
biscuits and, of course, scones.

What can you us tell about the village of Taxos ?

Taxos is on the Greek island of Kos and has suffered greatly from the
recession. The locals want to preserve its quaint heritage but a big
development company is threatening to rebuild it into a tacky tourist
destination.

Niko or Henrik who would you go for and why ?

Amanda, that is so hard! Urgh! Tall, blonde Henrik is hardworking, loyal,
ambitious.. Mocha-eyed Niko is family -orientated, flirty and romantic… I
can’t choose. Can I have both, please

What you tell us about Pippa ?

She always tries to do the right thing and in my opinion would make a great
best friend. I’d love to meet her for a coffee. She’s trustworthy and
reliable.

Do you prefer tea or coffee with a piece of cake ?

I don’t like tea and only drink decaffeinated coffee – no sugar or milk! Now
and again I suffer from insomnia, so I avoid caffeine.

How long did this book take to write?
Not long at all! Around three months, which is very quick for me. I fell in
love with the setting and characters and this helped the story just spill
onto the page.

What next for you ?

I am now starting my Christmas novel with has a very bonkers storyline! I
can’t say more at the moment.

If you was not a very successful writer what would you like to do?

I really don’t know, but it would have to involve working from home, like I
do now, to fit in with my children (and two mischievous cats who are both on
medication!) But if I was starting life from scratch again and younger, I’d
maybe go into publishing and become a literary agent – all those books to
read and parties!

Any tips for any would be writer out there?
Don’t give up It is hard, especially when the rejections keep coming in, but
at any one time you could only be a few steps away from getting that deal.
In my opinion, perseverance is going to be your most important quality.

Why did the scones idea come from ?
The title, once I’d decided to write something linked to my fave series,
Game of Thrones! But also because I love them – they are easy to make and
can be flavoured in so many different ways.

Do you put butter jam then cream on your scones ?

At home it’s butter, then a big dollop of strawberry jam. If I am out, I
love clotted

THANK FOR ANSWERING MY QUESTIONS SAM X

Game of Scones my review on my blog now you all got to read it just wonderful read
A BIT ABOUT SAMANTHA

Samantha lives in Cheshire with her lovely family and two cats who think they are dogs. Along with writing, her days are spent cycling, willing cakes to rise and avoiding housework. A love of fiction developed as a child, when she was known for reading Enid Blyton books in the bath. A desire to write bubbled away in the background whilst she pursued other careers, including a fun stint working at Disneyland Paris. Formally trained as a linguist, Samantha now likes nothing more than holing herself up in the spare room, in front of the keyboard. Writing romantic comedy novels and short stories is her passion.

Samantha has sold over 80 short stories to mainstream women’s magazines. Her debut romantic comedy novel from CarinaUK Harlequin, bestselling “Doubting Abbey”, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award, 2014. Its fun sequel is From Paris WithLove. Mistletoe Mansion is a fun standalone Christmasnovel.

http://samanthatonge.co.uk/
http://doubtingabbey.blogspot.co.uk/

https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter
https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor
http://www.amazon.co.uk/…/dp/B00ULP9…/ref=la_B00FB6KDNC_1_4…
http://www.amazon.com/Game-Scones-deliciously…/…/ref=sr_1_1…

Leave a Reply

