Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Kelly review for What Have I Done? by Amanda Prowse

on April 30, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.        Aj book review club's photo.       Aj book review club's photo.

What Have I Done? by Amanda Prowse

The Blurb:

Would you destroy your family to save your children?

Kathryn Brooker seems the very picture of a fulfilled wife and mother. Anyone who peered through the downstairs window at the four figures sitting around the kitchen table would see a very happy family without a care in the world. They would envy Kathryn her perfect life.

But they would be wrong. Kathryn is trapped in a nightmare. And she is about to do something to change it. Something only a truly desperate woman would do…..

What I think:

From the outside, it seems like Kathryn has the prefect life. She is married to an award winning school principal, she has two gorgeous children, who she adores and she has beautifully kept house. But Kathryn in trapped in a abusive marriage. She dreads the clock ticking, as she knows that abuse is imminent as bedtime draws closer. Until one day, she decides she has had enough of the abuse and enough of a life where she is stressed and scared all the time. On this one day, she kills her husband!

I instantly fell in love with Kathryn. She is such a likeable character and I couldn’t stop reading, as I was desperate to know what happened to her. I was gripped from the very first page, as the story just drew me in. What I liked about this book, is the way it was written. It jumps forward and backwards through time and I thought that this was the perfect way to keep me interested! It was beautifully written and every part of the book captured her emotions greatly! I found the book to be a bit heavy at times, as it went into the details if her abuse, but I loved how Kathryn started off a broken person and came to be so fulfilled at the end!

Once again, Amanda has tackled a very difficult and sensitive topic, and once again she has done it in such a beautiful manner! I found that no matter how heavy her books get, the end always leaves ,e smiling, which is such a beautiful gift Amanda has as an author. The only downside to this book, is that I read Will You Remember Me? Prior to this one, so I knew what happened to characters, but I must admit that it did take me the first 100 pages or so to figure that this was the same character, and this fact also didn’t stop me loving this book! It wasn’t my favourite Amanda Prowse book, but that is because Dot in Clover’s Child had such an impact on me! But a great book none the less!

I think Amanda has written another beautiful masterpiece with this one! A must read!

4.5/5 stars

another fab review by Kelly

thank you for reading

Leave a Reply

