Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

Please welcome today book buddy kelly to my blog

on May 5, 2015

Please welcome today book buddy kelly to my blog
Aj book review club's photo.Aj book review club's photo.

You do guest posts on my blog each week as you’re part of my aj review team.
How do you pick you’re books?
When I started reviewing for you blog, I would read which ever book I had bought new, but now that my tbr pile is getting higher and higher, I’m trying to get through that, so I am picking books from that more and more. Another way that I pick which book to read, is from recommendations that I see on twitter, from other book bloggers.

What are you reading now?
I’ve just started A Passionate Love Affair With A Total Stranger by Lucy Robinson. And I must say that I am loving it. After hearing all the hype about The Day We Disappeared, I wanted to give her books a try, and I can’t wait to get my hands on her new one, because if this one is anything to go by, I will be glued to it!

What sort of books do you read and review?
My favourite genre to read and review is chick lit. However, in the past few month’s I’ve found authors such as Louise Phillips and Amanda Prowse, which has gotten me into crime fiction, and also into more serious books, which even though I’ve surprised myself by saying it, I really enjoy!

What helps you to pick your books?

I like to take part in challenges on twitter, such as The Sunday Challenge and AJ’s Cool Cover Challenge. This helps me pick out books for the week. I usually pick out 3 or 4 books on a Sunday when I see the challenge and this usually keeps me going for the week. I have also started to look at the recommendations on Goodreads and I also like to read book blogs and get recommendations from them.

Where do you get your books from?

Before I would usually get my books from the local bookshop, but now more and more I am buying them online from the book depository, amazon and abebooks. I buy the very odd book for kindle, but I much rather reading an actual book.

List 3 great books you have read lately.

I’ve read so many great books lately, but the 3 that really stick out in my mind are:
1. Frisky Business by Clodagh Murphy – hands down my favourite book, it never fails to make me laugh and everytime I read it, I love it more and more. I read it for the first time two years ago, but I like to re-read it whenever I get a chance.
2. Clover’s Child by Amanda Prowse – I read this book in February, and it just blew me away. I have never like a character in any book as much as I love Dot. It was also hands down the most beautifully written book I’ve ever read!
3.The Girl On The Cliff by Lucinda Riley – I loved everything about this book, but what I liked the most is that it’s set very close to where I live, so it was nice to be able to picture the setting while I read it. This book also opened my eyes to historical fiction, a genre that I have found that I really like reading.

How many books are on your tbr pile?

I don’t know the specific number, but it’s growing all the time. Although I have gotten through a lot of books that were on the pile in the last few months, I think there’s still close to seventy books on it, and probably more if I checked my bookshelf, which I am not going to do!

How many books do you read a week?

Usually about three, although in the last few weeks I have been getting through four a week , most weeks.

List three interesting facts about you.
1. I have a severe phobia of clowns.
2. I have a serious collection of all things disney, especially tinkerbell!
3. I only started reading in the last four years, before that I would read maybe a book a year.

Tell us where we can find you.

My twitter is: ttps://twitter.com/x_kels_x

My facebook is: https://www.facebook.com/kelly.spillane.7

I guest review on: https://ajbookreviewclub.wordpress.com

and
http://lynseysbooks.blogspot.co.uk

You’re favourite book from you’re childhood.
As I already mentioned, I was not a huge reader when I was a child. But I do remember reading Matilda by Roald Dahl, and I did love it.

Do you have a favourite bookmark?
I have loads and loads of bookmarks, but I do have one that I have with over ten years, it’s pink and has a pig on it! I think that’s my favourite.

THANK YOU KELLY A GREAT POST YOU CAN READ KELLY REVIEWS EACH TUESDAY ON MY BLOG

One response to “Please welcome today book buddy kelly to my blog

  1. Nice to hear more about you Kelly. You are a speedy reader, I only manAge about 1 book every two weeks. I love your reviews on Aj’s blog, I’m glad you got into reading.
    Nice interview with your book buddy AJ.
    Amanda.

Leave a Reply

