Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

A Mother’s Story by Amanda Prowse

on May 9, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.

A Mother’s Story by Amanda Prowse

Aj book review club's photo.  KELLY REVIEW
The Blurb:
Jessica has just had the wedding of her dreams, and now she’s setting up a new home with her lawyer husband Matthew. Even better – they are expecting a child.

As they paint the nursery and shop for babygros, she plans for the joy that motherhood will bring. But Jessica’s experience is far from joyous. Why isn’t she transformed by maternal feelings? Where is the all-consuming love she’s supposed to feel for her child?

No-one told her that being a mum was so lonely and terrifying. No-one told her you don’t always love your baby. Perhaps it’s best if Jessica keeps that dark secret to herself for now…

What I Think:
I have read and loved all of Amanda’s previous books, so I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this one. I was not disappointed with this one, as once again Amanda tugged in my heartstrings and had me crying tears of laughter and sadness throughout the book.

The story follows Jessica, who is happily married to Matthew. Her life couldn’t be better. They both have great jobs and a gorgeous house. When Jessica falls pregnant with their first child, they are both over the moon, life couldn’t get any better for them. But when Jessica experiences complications during the birth and Lilly is born by an emergency cesarean section, Jessica feels that she has lost control and she can’t bond with her baby.

I loved reading about Jessica and Matthew’s relationship. They are a couple so in love that you could feel the love and adoration that they have for each other dripping off the pages. Everything about their life together seemed so happy and joyful, that when it turned to sadness, I cried for them and their relationship. I loved how Amanda wrote this book, with such happiness and sadness. It is full to the brim of all kinds of emotion, and if I wasn’t crying with happiness for them, I was crying with sadness.

Each chapter is followed by a short journal entry from Jessica, which shows us how she was feeling when she was experiencing the post natal depression. Little by little to depth of how much Jessica was suffering is revealed and when it all came to a head at the end of the book, I found I was holding my breath waiting to find out what happened. Although this is a tragic story, the very last chapter had me crying tears of joy again, and I felt at that point that the book had come full circle.

There is still a real stigma around any kind of depression these days and Amanda wrote about Jessica’s post natal depression beautifully. She captured how full of life she was before the depression hit and how dark her life got after her baby was born. I’m glad that a book about such a sensitive subject had been so beautifully written by a very talented author. I feel that this book has brought depression and past natal depression in particular into the public eye and for this I can’t praise Amanda enough.
5/5 stars

MY REVIEW

Aj book review club's photo.
WOW I LOVED THIS BOOK I THINK ONE OF AMANDA BEST
Amanda not afraid of tracking the such sensitive issue I found this book a very emotional and powerful read
Amanda passion for her character shine in this book i love her writing style
The way Amanda deals with postnatal depression was a real eye opener to me it will make you see how your love one feel you get to feel all they helplessness and frustration and how they cope it really makes you think it so brilliantly wrote
You go on this journey with Jessica Matthew and Lilly it was so moving to read so gripping I found it very thought provoking and emotional
All the characters were so real i felt for them all a real page turner for me
YOU ALL MUST READ THIS BOOK BRILLIANT
THANK YOU FOR READING MY AND KELLY REVIEWS X

One response to “A Mother’s Story by Amanda Prowse

  1. Tanya Phillips says:

    Sounds great. I must get this x

Leave a Reply

