Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

LULLABY GIRL BY ALY SIDGWICK ( Q&A WITH ALY TOO)

on June 9, 2015
 Aj book review club's photo.      Aj book review club's photo.
LULLABY GIRL BY ALY SIDGWICK ( Q&A WITH ALY TOO)
Who is the Lullaby Girl?

Found washed up on the banks of a remote loch, a mysterious girl is taken into the care of a psychiatric home in the Highlands of Scotland. Mute and covered in bruises, she has no memory of who she is or how she got there. The only clue to her identity is the Danish lullaby she sings…

Inside the care home, she should be safe. But, harassed by the media and treated as a nuisance by under-pressure staff, she finds the home is far from a haven. And as her memories slowly surface, the Lullaby Girl does her best to submerge them again. Some things are too terrible to remember… but unless she confronts her fear, how can she find out who she really is?

WHAT I SAY
I would like to thank Janne at Black & white publishing for letting me read and review this fabulous book as part of this book tour
THIS BOOK IS ALY SIDGWICK DEBUT IT SO TENSE AND MESMERISING I WAS HOOKED SO WILL YOU BE
Wow what can i say about this book i was hooked from the first page to the last one it a brilliant psychological thriller i can not praise enough it was so gripping i had to know what happen to Kathy or Lullaby girl i liked how she got her name very clever makes you think

I did fine the story a bit slow in places but this help to build up the tension to this very dark story as i just said it was dark but then it could be fun it had humour in there too in the right places just the right amount too i help to break the story up I enjoy the way Aly builds up the tension in the story
I found some parts very chilling
I did feel for the characters the book or story line stay in my mind long after I finished it i kept thinking about it
I found Kathy story so gripping i like how it was written by the first person and moves between Kathy current and very confusing situation and then to now it told as flashbacks she seem so scared of her past as the story unfolds you will see why it so powerful the story blends together so well your be so absorbed in it
I liked how the mystery side of it was unfolded it was so clever her confusion and fear were so gripping a real page turner you need to know what was happening
Kathy was a brilliant complex character she was just like a child at times at the start i could not work her out but she just capture me her state of mind so full of fear could she confront her fears
I was not sure of the care home she was in what did you think of it ?
This book take you on her journey to rediscover herself and what a journey it is
THE ONLY CLUE TO HER IDENTITY WAS THE DANISH LULLABY SHE SINGS OR WAS IT ?
please read this book for you self Aly is a very talented new author I really enjoy it so will you

TODAY ON MY BLOG I GOT THE AUTHOR OF LULLABY GIRL
ALY SIDWICK

I was asked where I get my ideas from.
Hmmm, I supposethey come from a lot of different places. Sometimes from odd things strangers have said or done, or ideas I’ve beenobsessed with. Lullaby Girl is the most personal thing I’vewritten because it was hugely influenced by my own healthproblems. I struggled with panic disorder for three years, so the panic attacks, fainting spells and medication-inducedhallucinations were things I’d personally experienced. I also wanted to explore the ’displaced’ feeling I accumulated from years of moving around. The theme of’home,’ or lack of one, has preoccupied me, as well as the idea of verbal communication/language barriers.
A major theme in the book is organised crime- specificallysex trafficking- and that was influenced by things I saw in Oslo. The number of immigrant sex workers there is huge, and at night they engulf the city centre. My favourite bar, Elm Street (R.i.p.) was on a particularly ’bad’ street for that. We’d go outside to smoke and twenty-odd girls, pimpsand dealers would’ve walked past by the time we wentback inside. There’s actually a huge problem with rape and violence against women in Oslo. Two men tried to drag meinto their car once, and a colleague came ridiculously closeto being gang raped behind Oslo central station. Vicious sex attacks were constantly in the news, and my femalefriends were often scared to walk home alone. My awareness of those things influenced the plot of LG. Noneof my characters are direct copies of anyone I know, butthere are little bits of real people mixed in there.

.. I thinkthe closest-to-real-life character is Håkon. Mrs Bell is roughly based on one of my primary school teachers, and Mary is based on a troubled girl I knew years ago.
My next book is quite dark, but in a different way. There’sa mythical element to the story. But I don’t want to give toomuch away yet! I’m still at the drawing board…

Leave a Reply

