Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

George’s Marvellous Medicine by roald dahl and BFG

on September 12, 2015

Aj book review club's photo.

Why had I not read this roald dahl book
George’s Marvellous Medicine

I would say this book aim at children seven years or above I had not read this book as a kid so I found a copy to read I love the outrageous in the story and it such a thrilling read for any age
It a very enjoyable read I loved George he such a lovely boy he lives on the farm with his mum and dad one day he left with his nasty Grandma she seem very mean she was so horrible she need her medicine at 11 o clock so this day George makes his own medicine he uses some very wrong things so please kids do not copy as some were very dangerous
But the results were so funny and unexpected you got to read to see it he then try on animals wow to what happens
The story packed lots of comedy moments he got a wonderful writing style so unique I loved all the images in this book a brilliant book

Tanya favourite book by Roald Dahl
I had to think quite hard which is my favourite Roald Dahl book and then I remembered the BFG. What child did not dream of Giants and the adventures? I loved the fact that the BFG spread happy dreams and that his ears were so big. The description of him always enthralled me as did the story. The mispronunciation of words and the made up words he would use for wind and other things always managed to make me smile and when reading it out loud to a class of children they would always end up giggling (mind you that may have been the voices or actions that I used).

A close second was Charlie and the chocolate factory which again allows the reader to imagine strange places and rooms as well as beings. Again I enjoy putting on silly voices when reading this and maybe too the odd silly dance to the rhymes.

I think the books are so good because they allow the child to imagine outside what is perceived as normal

2 responses to “George’s Marvellous Medicine by roald dahl and BFG

  1. Tanya Phillips says:

    I look forward to doing This for more authors

  2. Roald Dahl has written some amazing books, I remember the three you mentioned well. We read George’s Marvellous medicine in school and the kids could make up their own dangerous potions. (fake out of cardboard and things). They were very imaginative with their names: Dylan’s Dangerous Potion, Katie’s Crazy Cake etc. It was fun.
    Amanda.

Leave a Reply

