Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

PRETTY IS BY MAGGIE MICHELLE

on October 26, 2015

My review

Aj book review club's photo.

PRETTY IS BY MAGGIE MICHELLE

Lois and Carly-May are just twelve years old when they’re abducted, driven across the country, and imprisoned in a remote, isolated hunting lodge for two months. That summer, under the watchful gaze of their kidnapper, they form a bond which will never be broken . . .

Decades later, both Lois and Carly-May have built new lives and identities for themselves. Lois, a professor of literature, is shaken when an obsessive student reminds her of the man who kidnapped her, a man she saw shoot himself on the porch twenty years before.

Out in LA, Carly-May is drinking too much and watching her beauty-queen looks fade, clinging to the last remnants of a once-promising career as an actress. When she reads a shockingly familiar screenplay, she warily she takes a role she knows is based on events from her own life.

Increasingly haunted by the devastating experience that shaped both their lives, Lois and Carly-May are drawn together again in a world that both echoes and falsifies their beautiful, terrible story.

An enthralling portrait of two haunted young women, this remarkable debut novel explores the very nature of survival.

WHAT I SAY
This book is a thriller it a very interesting read but it took me a while to get into the plot I am not still not sure if I like or not but please read for you self as you may enjoy it
I just found it very slow in parts but then other parts grip me so I guess that makes it a good read

I also got to say I found it a very thought provoking at times it make you think what would you do ?
Lois and Carly were both abducted by the man there call Zed they were keep in a log cabin for two months
The story told as flashbacks it swap around a lot I got a bit lots at times but then the story just seemed to fall into place I got the flashbacks more then
Both girls had been though so much they were not allow to see each other but now years later could they meet up ?
The story packed with mystery I just was not sure how it was told it was full of twists and turns i got a bit lost at times it jump back to much for me but the plot very good it a very interesting read as I said It was just not for me but you may love it so please read for yourself
3 dolls
Thank you netgalley for letting me read and review

Leave a Reply

