Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

LIVING IN THE SHADOWS BY JUDITH BARROW

on November 13, 2015

LIVING IN THE SHADOWS BY JUDITH BARROW


I LOVED THIS BOOK I HOPE YOU ALL DO TO
Genre: Historical Fiction

Release Date: 16 July 2015

Publisher: Honno Welsh Women’s Press

It’s 1969 and Mary Schormann is living quietly in Wales with her ex-POW husband, Peter, and her teenage twins, Richard and Victoria.

Her niece, Linda Booth, is a nurse – following in Mary’s footsteps – and works in the maternity ward of her local hospital in Lancashire.

At the end of a long night shift, a bullying new father visits the maternity ward and brings back Linda’s darkest nightmares, her terror of being locked in. Who is this man, and why does he scare her so?

There are secrets dating back to the war that still haunt the family, and finding out what lies at their root might be the only way Linda can escape their murderous consequences.
Sequel to the acclaimed Changing Patterns and Pattern of Shadows:

“Judith Barrow has not written an ordinary romance but a book that deals with important issues which are still relevant today… an excellent debut novel.”
Historical Novels Review

“Judith Barrow has written, with great intensity of emotions, an absorbing saga…”
www.gwales.com

“well-paced, gritty love story”
Western Mail

“An unforgettable debut novel – perfectly paced”
Menna Elfyn

“Barrow’s thoughtful and atmospheric novel shines a light on the shadowy corners of family life…”
Lancashire Evening Post

“a gripping read.”
Tivyside Advertiser

BUY LINKS

AMAZON UK

Honno
WHAT I SAY
This was the first book I have read by Judith and it will not be the last I really loved her writing style it was so easy to read
You can read as a standalone book i did but this story is the last one of the trilogy in the patterns /Shadow trilogy I then when back to read the first two as I enjoy it so much

It a wonderful family drama set it 1969 Wales as I started to read I was transported there with them all
All the characters seem so real to me they are such warm character I loved them all they became part of my family as I read
It packed with tension and lots of emotions I felt them all too I did find it very moving to read in places it a very tense read moving at just the right pace
I enjoyed all the settings I could picture it all in my head
As I said before it very well written you are pulled into the story line the characters are so real thier personal issues you could relate to .I liked the way Judith builds up the tension and the drama unfolds so easily I like how each chapter ended in just the right spot but making you want to carry on reading to see what going on next
This book will make you think
Judith a wonderful storyteller it such a gripping read the characters are very strong and the story so uplifting to read it a real page turner I read in two days
I not told you the plot as I love you all to read it a brilliant book
I like to thank Brooks cottage tours for letting me read and review as part of Roise Book Review Team
I would also like to thank
Honno Welsh Women’s Press as they send me the book to read before I saw the tour
Please check out judith books you will enjoy them
5 dolls (5stars )

About Judith Barrow

Judith Barrow has lived in Pembrokeshire for thirty years. She is the author of three novels, and has published poetry and short fiction, winning several poetry competitions, as well as writing three children’s books and a play performed at the Dylan Thomas Centre. Judith grew up in the Pennines, has degrees in literature and creative writing and makes regular appearances at literary festivals.

https://twitter.com/barrow_judith

https://www.judithbarrow.co.uk/

www.honno.co.uk

GIVEAWAY

3 copies of the book (open internationally )
Hope you win

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4be03017115/?

6 responses to “LIVING IN THE SHADOWS BY JUDITH BARROW

  1. Tanya Phillips says:

    This sounds fantastic. I really fancy it. I love seeing you reviewing again.

  2. dawn obrien says:

    I just love historical fiction , and this sounds fab with its secrets!

Leave a Reply

