Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul by Deborah Rodriguez

on March 21, 2016

Tanya review post

Aj book review club's photo.
 

The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul by Deborah Rodriguez

I have had this book on my shelf for over a year and I wish now I had read it before, it is one of those books that has such strong story lines that it will stay with you for a long time. The experiences of the author, Deborah Rodriquez, as a teacher and director of Kabul Beauty School and the co owner of the Cabul Coffee House, show throughout the book. She manages to bring the atmosphere and the experiences of women and Men of Afghanistan to life and the images she describes are believable and thorough. It certainly was an eye opener of some of the thoughts and behaviour that some women experience in the area.

I really liked the majority of the characters especially the women. Sunny is a strong minded American women, that at first I did not understand why she would choose to live in such a dangerous situation. She owns the cafe and is always trying to help others as the fact that she takes in Yasmina even though she is pregnant shows. I felt so sorry for Yasmina and very scared for her situation in being a widowed pregnant lady. Halajan was one of my favourite characters as she is such a strong character but with constant worry and understanding of how Muslim women should behave. Isabel again is a strong woman with a difficult background. I liked her strong belief in journalism and her detailed way of researching for her writing. It took me a while to warm to Candace as at first she seemed self centred and didn’t really understand the struggle of women, however I did appreciate her fundraising skills. My attitude soon changed to her when you got to know her more. All the women are held together by a bond that makes them friends. They understand each other with Sunny at the centre of the friendship.

There are various story lines that go through the book about the oppression of women, the lifestyle to expect in Kabul, the situation of bombs and love stories. I admit that I did find that for the first few chapters I had to concentrate on the book as I wanted to place where everything was. I am now looking forward to the next book.

Leave a Reply

