Ajbookreviewclub

A fine WordPress.com site

THE BOOKSHOP ON ROSEMARY LANE BY ELLEN BERRY

on July 24, 2016

THE BOOKSHOP ON ROSEMARY LANE BY ELLEN BERRY

**Take a trip to the Yorkshire village of Burley Bridge, where a very special little cookbook shop is about to open its doors…**

In the beginning…

Kitty Cartwright has always solved her problems in the kitchen. Her cookbooks are her life, and there isn’t an issue that ‘Cooking with Aspic’ can’t fix. Her only wish is that she had a book entitled ‘Rustling Up Dinner When Your Husband Has Left You’.

Forty years later…

On Rosemary Lane, Della Cartwright plans to open a very special little bookshop. Not knowing what to do with the hundreds of cookbooks her mother left her, she now wants to share their recipes with the world – and no amount of aspic will stand in her way.

But with her family convinced it’s a hare-brained scheme, Della starts to wonder if she’s made a terrible decision. One thing’s for sure: she’s about to find out…

Lose yourself in Della’s world of food, family and friends. The perfect read for fans of Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews.

WHAT I SAY
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK
This is the first book by Ellen I have read I will now look out for more of her books. You will be pulled into the story from the first few pages to the last one you will want the story to carry one I did I can not wait for the next two book later this year.
I found this more about the characters than the bookshop that more the backdrop I say a great introduction to it .
Kitty love her cookbooks when she died her daughter Della wanted the books they were very special to her but her family think she mad for wanted them .
Della character was lovely very warm kind and caring lady as the story moves on she seem to grown into a very strong lady that knows to follow her mind and dream but a what cost ?
My heart when out to her at so many times I really felt for her I think you will too.
I know I did not like Mike from the start did you?
I found I was hooked on the story very easy to read it flows so effortlessly I like Ellen writing style it just hooks you
It a lovely warm book a great introduction to the other books to follow
I like to thank Avon for sending me this fabulous book to read I recommend you all take a look at it

ABOUT AUTHOR

Ellen Berry is an author and magazine journalist. Originally from rural West Yorkshire, she has three teenage children and lives with her husband and their daughter in Glasgow. When she’s not writing, she loves to cook and browse her vast collection of cookbooks, which is how the idea for this story came about. However, she remains the world’s worst baker but tends to blame her failures on ‘the oven’.

See more

2 responses to “THE BOOKSHOP ON ROSEMARY LANE BY ELLEN BERRY

  1. This sounds like just my kind of book AJ. Any books that have bookshop in the title sound pretty good to me. I also love foodie books, so as the books are a lot of cookbooks it sounds like its definitely one for my tbr list.Nice to read your reviews again, I missed them.
    Amanda. x

Leave a Reply

